OECTA Logo "Recognizing our uniqueness as teachers in Catholic Schools, we are an Association committed to the advancement of Catholic education. As teacher advocates we provide professional services, support, protection and leadership."
OECTA Logo Girl Smiling
Teachers' Issues
Occasional Teachers
PD Fund
Frequently Asked Questions
Teachers' Links
Contact Us

Boy in class

This site developed
by CAPCOM Consulting


Local Committees

The selection of members to committees for the 2017-18, and 2018-19 school years is now complete. Our committees address areas of specific need and/or interest to members. Being a committee member gives teachers an opportunity to work for colleagues and to meet teachers from around the Board.

Committees meet approximately three times during the year. Meetings are usually held at the Unit office during the school day with release. Mileage is paid from a teacher’s school to the Unit office, return. Members of each committee are selected by the Executive from among the applications received. The Executive makes every effort to select committee members so that representation is balanced both regionally and by panel.

Beginning Teachers
To provide support and ideas to assist beginning teachers in the area of professional development, and provide a way to communicate to new members of the teaching profession.

Members: Michael Scott, Pamela Lockhart, Garry Curtis

Professional Development Committee
To assess the professional development program/activity needs of our members; to assist in developing a plan to fulfill these needs; to promote professional development/wellness opportunities within our Unit.

Members: Julie Coligan, Michael Scott, Rob D’Alessio, Natalie Trottie

Political Action Committee
To promote the teaching profession and Catholic education; to inform teachers of trustee and local political candidate’s philosophies related to education in trustee and political elections.

Members: Yvonne Bakker, Rob D’Alessio, Norm Evans

Collective Bargaining Committee
To conduct a survey of the membership to inform local bargaining priorities for the next round of negotiations, and to use this as a basis for an initial proposal.

Members: Kristy Tait-Angel, Steve Dionne, Jim Roy, Josee Lemieux-Bailey, Norm Evans, Mike Hamilton

Elementary Staffing Committee
Responsible for analyzing elementary staffing data, monitoring compliance with various elementary panel Central and Local Collective Agreement articles, and advising the Unit representatives to the Joint Board Staffing Committee.

Members:  Janice Thibault-Page, Debbie Rutherford, Trish Wouters, Julie Coligan

Secondary Staffing Committee
Responsible for analyzing and advising on secondary staffing and workload issues arising from Central and Local Collective Agreement articles, and Board initiatives. This committee advises on and informs the work of the Unit representatives to the Joint Board Staffing Committee.

Members: Jim Roy, Zoee Brunet, Natalie Trottier, Rob D’Alessio

SERT Roles and Responsibilities
To discuss the roles and responsibilities of Special Education Resource Teachers with a view to identify and encourage best practices.

Members: Diana Allan, Melissa Bingley, Colleen Donovan, Rebecca Kennedy, Jennifer Toye, Jim Roy



Mission Statement bullet
Statement of Principles  bullet
Objectives of OECTA  bullet
OECTA Prayer  bullet
OECTA Pledge  bullet
Our Constitution  bullet
Our Executive  bullet
Staff Representatives  bullet
Local Committees  bullet