OECTA Logo "Recognizing our uniqueness as teachers in Catholic Schools, we are an Association committed to the advancement of Catholic education. As teacher advocates we provide professional services, support, protection and leadership."
OECTA Logo Girl Smiling
Teachers' Issues
Occasional Teachers
PD Fund
Frequently Asked Questions
Teachers' Links
Contact Us

Boy in class

This site developed
by CAPCOM Consulting



E a s t e r n   U p d a t e - Wednesday, February 23, 2010

Elementary Report Card Day
Thursday, March 4th is the P.A. day designated by the Joint OECTA-Board PD Committee for elementary teachers to work on second term report cards as well as other assessment or planning activities. It was agreed at this table that report cards would be due to the principal no earlier than Monday, March 8th. The March 4th P.A. day is solely teacher-directed. No meetings are to be held during that day.

Our yearly Unit Annual General Meeting (AGM) is being held in the cafeteria at St. Michael’s CHS in Kemptville on Tuesday, March 9th, at 5:30 p.m. A light supper will be provided. This meeting will be combined with a Staff Rep meeting, and will be followed by our AGM delegate meeting. The agenda will include local updates, a discussion of AGM resolutions, the treasurer’s report, as well as one proposed amendment to the Unit Policies and Procedures. The proposed amendment is a housekeeping item, requested by Provincial, to reflect changes that were long ago instituted in the Education Act. As per our Policies and Procedures, it is included here as notice prior to our meeting:
Motion: That the Eastern OECTA Unit By-Laws be amended by deletion of By-Law Article I, number 3 (f) “Association members as accepted and designated by Provincial Executive.”
(When Bill 160 became law, occasional teachers became statutory members and no longer have to be afforded membership rights by being assigned to units as associate members.)

SmartBoards Workshop
The February 18th SmartBoards Workshop was very successful, and a second Smartboards workshop will be held on Friday, April 9th at a location that is yet to be determined. We have maintained a waiting list in order of calls to the Unit office, with over 50 teachers on the list.
Box 220, Kemptville, Ontario K0G 1J0
Phone: 1-888-250-3799
Fax: 1-613-258-0842
Website: www.easternoecta.ca
The next 25 teachers on the list will be selected to attend (respecting no more than two teachers per individual school.) This list will be sent out shortly for confirmation of attendance, once a site is confirmed.

Requests for Increase in F.T.E.
A new addition to our recent Collective Agreement is a clause that states, 13.07, “Part-time teachers requesting an increase in teaching load shall be given priority, where an appropriate vacancy exists, prior to external hiring.” The Association and the Board are developing a form for teachers to use to indicate their desire to increase their teaching load. Until this form is developed, teachers should submit a letter to their principal, with copies to the Human Resource department and OECTA, indicating how much of an increase they would like, when they would like, ideally, for this to take effect (eg. Sept., or immediately), and which school(s) they would consider in order for this to happen. It is the intent that the accommodation of such requests would be based on seniority with the Board.

The OECTA Annual General Meeting is being held at the Westin Harbour Front Castle in Toronto on Saturday, March 13th, through to Monday, March 15th. This AGM will be marked by the debate on whether or not to organize Early Childhood Educators as members of OECTA. We have a full delegation, including 2 alternates. Our thanks go out to the teachers who are volunteering their time to attend and to give direction to our Association as representatives of Eastern unit teachers. The following is a list of our delegates: Andrew Donihee, Ann McGahey (OT), Mireille LaPointe, Jim Roy, Barb Dobrowolski, Dale Fobert, Mark Melville, Linda McLaren, Dawn Morva, Rob D’Alessio, Daniele Rae, Heather Donihee (OT), Penny Huntley, Patrick O’Shea. Sharon Adam, Yvonne Bakker, Chris Shannon (alternate), and Chris Beacom (alternate.)

OECTA Young Authors Awards/Prix Jeunes Écrivains
Young Authors Awards submissions are due to your school’s OECTA staff representative by March 1st for judging at the school level. Each school can submit one entry per category to the Unit Level for judging. All entries must be at the unit office by March 8th. Shortly after the March Break, judging will take place at the unit office for all school submissions. The winning entries in each category will be forwarded to OECTA provincial for final judging. Provincial winners will be announced at the June 2010 Council of Presidents in Toronto and will have their work published.


Newsletters bullet
Meeting Minutes  bullet
Archived Newsletters