OECTA Logo "Recognizing our uniqueness as teachers in Catholic Schools, we are an Association committed to the advancement of Catholic education. As teacher advocates we provide professional services, support, protection and leadership."
OECTA Logo Girl Smiling
Teachers' Issues
Occasional Teachers
PD Fund
Frequently Asked Questions
Teachers' Links
Contact Us

Boy in class

This site developed
by CAPCOM Consulting



E a s t e r n   U p d a t e - Thursday, April 9, 2015

April 21st Strike Vote Rallies- Permanent and Occasional Teachers

Change in Cornwall Venue

As previously announced, we will be holding Strike Vote Rallies on Tuesday, April 21st at 5:30 p.m., in Kemptville and Cornwall. The Cornwall venue has had to be changed. The rally will now be held at Nav Canada Centre, 1950 Montreal Road, Cornwall, K6H 6L2. It will be held in the DeHavilland Banquet Dining Room, F121. The Kemptville rally is still being held at the North Grenville Municipal Complex, 285 County Road 44. A light supper will be provided in each venue.

We encourage all teachers to attend. It is important that on April 23rd through to April 24th, when permanent and occasional Eastern OECTA teachers cast their strike vote for provincial bargaining purposes, we do so well informed. The two rally sites will be linked by video-conferencing. Speakers at the event will include OECTA Provincial President, James Ryan, OECTA General Secretary, Marshall Jarvis, Barb Dobrowolski, local Eastern OECTA Unit President, and Dale Fobert, Unit Vice-President. Addresses will be followed by a question and answer period.

Local Elections

This is a local election year for our OECTA Unit Executive. We will be conducting the election electronically for the first time. Emails will be sent to all teachers with the biographies of candidates. Additionally, there will be an All-Candidates meeting held on Monday, April 20th at the OECTA Unit office at 33 Somerville Rd., Kemptville, starting at 5:00. The candidates will be given the opportunity to give a speech, followed by a question and answer period. The vote will be held on Tuesday, April 28th starting at noon, through to noon, April 29th . Teachers will be prompted to participate in the vote with an email.

Our local election procedure has three tiers of elections to allow for step downs of unsuccessful candidates to lower tier elections. The first tier is for the position of Unit President. The second tier is for the position of CEO (candidates must be from the panel opposite to that of the President.) The third tier of the election procedure is for all remaining positions.

At our Unit General Meeting in March we changed our by-laws, changing the second release officer position of Unit Vice-President to that of Teacher Welfare Officer. The Teacher Welfare Officer is a position to which teachers can submit an application. The Unit Executive will appoint a committee to interview and hire for the position. It is a non-voting, full-time release position, with duties that include grievance officer and LTD officer. A call for applications will go out after local elections are complete.

Any teacher who has no email address, or has not submitted their email address to the Unit office and wants to participate in the vote, please contact Ann McGahey, Elections Chair at (613) 284-6414 by Friday, April 17, 2015.

Newsletters bullet
Meeting Minutes  bullet
Archived Newsletters