OECTA Logo "Recognizing our uniqueness as teachers in Catholic Schools, we are an Association committed to the advancement of Catholic education. As teacher advocates we provide professional services, support, protection and leadership."
OECTA Logo Girl Smiling
Teachers' Issues
Occasional Teachers
PD Fund
Frequently Asked Questions
Teachers' Links
Contact Us

Boy in class

This site developed
by CAPCOM Consulting



E a s t e r n   U p d a t e - Tuesday, September 27, 2005

Unit Executive 2005-2007
I wish to, once again, thank the individuals who allowed their names to stand for election for positions on the Unit Executive. Three positions remained vacant after the elections. Appointments were made by the Executive to complete the slate:

  • President – Ann McGahey
  • Vice President - Barb Dobrowolski
  • CEO (Secondary Branch Affiliate) James Roy
  • Treasurer – Darryl Power
  • Secretary – Kevin Hogan
  • Councillors LL&G – Mireille LaPointe and Tammy Peckham
  • Councillors PR – Francine Martell and Francis Scholten
  • Councillors SD&G – Ken O’Brien and Daniele Rae
  • Occasional Teacher President – Steve Kirby

I look forward to working with the new Executive, and with the Staff Representatives from our schools, over the next two years.

PD Fund
Application dates for conferences/workshops from November 16 through to the end of December 2005, is Friday, November 11th, 2005. They will be considered at the November 15th Executive Meeting. Applications for conferences from December 14th through to the end of January 2006 is Friday December 9th.
The PD policy and application form is available on the Unit website www.easternoecta.ca.

We are seeking members for Unit Committees – Beginning Teachers (1-5 years in teaching), Communication/Political Action, Professional Development and Social. A description of the committees and a sign-up form are in your schools. Application deadline is Friday, October 14, 2005.

An OECTA curling bonspiel will be held in Cornwall on Saturday, October 29, 2005. Francys Harrison, St. Joseph CSS is the coordinator, and welcomes individuals or teams to participate. A flyer with all the details will be in your schools this week. The annual bonspiel in Smiths Falls will be held on Saturday, February 4, 2005.

Staff Representatives
Has your school submitted the name of your staff rep to the Unit Office yet??

Newsletters bullet
Meeting Minutes  bullet
Archived Newsletters